Be you.

Who are you?

 

What are the things that make you, you?

 

One thing that we must all learn in life, is that we are the only ones in control. In today’s society we look at others for appreciation and validation, but we never take the time to truly do that for ourselves. We should be our own biggest fan and our own #1 supporter. No matter what, people tend to always only look out for themselves, so why are you looking out for those who don’t do the same?

 

We are given one life and we must make the best out of it. This includes making the best out of those you surround yourself with. You need to be able to tell the difference between those who genuinely care and those who momentarily abide with you. The only relationships worth having are the ones that help you grow, the ones that allow you to change for the better, the ones that support your decisions and choices, and the ones that love you unconditionally. You should choose those who never belittle you, those who are compassionate with you, and those who understand what you are capable of and celebrate that with you. You should want to make a beautiful life for yourself, no matter what it takes.

 

Stop looking at others for self-love. Self-love starts with you.

 

Loving yourself isn’t easy, take it from me. It always seems easier to just let people have their way with you, but as you grow, you realize that you are more than how certain people treat you. Your parents (family members, guardians, etc…) did not take time out of their day raising you, for you to allow anybody to treat you any less than what you deserve. Not only that, but you are not in this world to be taking mediocracy from anybody. You deserve enriching and intricate relationships where everything is possible and love flourishes in every way.

 

You will experience many things in your lifetime, but you should never conform and you should never change who you are for someone else. I am at that stage in my life, and I’m hoping many of you who are reading can relate, where I am forming who I will be for the rest of my life. I will no longer allow people to step all over me, use me, take advantage of me, steal from me, or hurt me. This is my life and I am in control.

 

Live a life that is worth living. Pursue your passions, and be your truest self. We have only perceived such a small amount of what the world truly has to offer. So get out and be adventurous. Do things that you’ve always said you wanted to do, but never did. Don’t let others hold you back from who you are meant to be. I promise you will feel the difference and you will think to yourself, “Why did I not do this sooner?” Love yourself. If you don’t, who will?

One thought on “Be you.

  1. I love this. Self acceptance is so important, especially now in days with all the social and entertainment outlets telling us what is acceptable and what isn’t. It is refreshing to read blogs like yours, where you keep focus on subjects of self assurance and positive thinking. Keep it up! 😊❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

